My first time(s)

15 Jul

Not that kinda first time…. This weekend has been jam packed with many firsts.

First time making chicken francese

The boy and I attempt to be adventurous every so often and cook our own dinner. It’s pretty tricky to pick something both of us like though– he’s a big meat eater, I only eat chicken and turkey and at the moment no dairy. We agreed on chicken francese following this recipeĀ 

While there was a few issues with getting the breading to stick, it was shockingly flavorful and delicious.

both of us agreed that we would love to make this dish again… and hopefully it will be better next time.

first time seeing the Dark Knight

I know, I know, I know, HOW HAVE YOU NOT SEEN THE DARK KNIGHT!!!! I have a very valid excuse– 4 summers ago when the movie came out I was traveling around Europe. The movie was only playing with German dubbing in Switzerland at the time. By the time I came home later that summer, everyone had already seen the movie approximately 4 times in theaters.

With the upcoming sequel, the boy wanted to rewatch The Dark Knight and was determined to pop my Dark Knight cherry. We attempted to watch it Friday, but I was exhausted from the long day at camp and fell asleep 20 minutes into the movie. I have a terrible attention span for long, complicated movies….

Saturday I was well rested, and full of chicken francese. The Dark Knight was crazy hyped up for me, but I was honestly not disappointed. It lived up to the expectations, and I was surprised how engrossed in it I was. Can’t wait to see the sequel later this week.

first time running for 20 minutes without stopping

Couch to 5K continues… and today was the scariest run of them all. 20 minutes without stopping? YIKES

I am no runner. The thought of this seemed impossible

buttttt I did it! With the help of good tunes, the couch to 5k app giving me words of encouragement every 5 minutes, dreaming about how delicious chai and overnight oats will taste afterwards and telling myself “YOU CANNOT WIMP OUT”.

So for the first time in my life I ran for 20 minutes non-stop. While this is a small feat for some, it’s a hugeeee deal for me!

and I was totes right, those oats tasted even more delicious

first time getting fitted for running shoes

Until today I didn’t really know much about my foot and what kind of shoes I should be wearing. I was told awhile ago I had high arches (thanks dance!) but didn’t really know much more.

I decided to visit Kilometers in Ridgefield Connecticut to properly get sized and fitted for running shoes. Although I am not much of a runner, my feet take quite a beating during boot camp.

For a nerd like me it was super cool to get fitted for the shoes. At the store the helpful salesperson confirmed that I do have high arches and also looked to see if I rolled in or not when I walked. I found out that I have a very neutral step, so my shoes don’t need much fancy extra parts to fix how I walk.

Usually I’m a sucker for bright colored shoes, but today I settled for shoes that were the right fit and type for my foot

not the prettiest, but definitely comfy to run in.

Besides the many firsts, the weather here has been terrifying

the rain was so bad this afternoon that I had to pull off the road while driving because I couldn’t see ANYTHING. Scary stuff.

now it’s time to rest up before another exhausting week of camp. I’m SUPER excited because Green Day has a new single coming out tomorrow. Since I began a massive Green Day fan two years ago they haven’t released any new music. So. freaken. excited.

Leave a comment