vacation from vacation

15 Oct

It’s de ja vu over here for me… once again I am sitting in the admirals lounge at JFK airport, sipping a chai latte, lovin’ the free wifi and about to embark on a California adventure.

This past week was a vacation from my California vacation– I was back home in Westchester, New York to celebrate my close friend’s wedding. Besides the wedding this weekend I didn’t do anything too exciting

-I did get to see a glimpse of fall, something I will not be witnessing in California…

-I took body pump classes at the nearby gym, something I definitely miss when I’m not in Westchester.

– I savored the perfect fall weather with an outside run. I really need to find a good place to run in California– the canyon is way too hilly for me.

– the boy and I visited all my favorite local restaurants and ate delicious delicious food

– and mostly I spent quality time with my family and friends– the people I’ve missed terrible since I’ve been in California.

It was super exciting to celebrate my close friend’s wedding and have the honor of being a bridesmaid. It’s hard to believe I’ve now known Samantha for three years now thanks to flying trapeze. I swear you come for the thrills and stay for the amazing people you meet at trapeze.

Everything about the wedding was perfect

Circus roses were very fitting for the high flying trapeze artist bride

 

a rare photo of the two of us in which we are not covered in chalk and sweat at trapeze.
we are “styling” like we do in a trapeze show.

the best date a gal can ask for! what a trooper to put up with the wedding craziness all weekend.

Being at a wedding makes me think about my very very distant wedding (don’t worry, the boy will not be popping the question anytime soon).

We did spend the weekend joking about what we’d want if we got married. We both agreed we’d want a ska band at the party (does Reel Big Fish play weddings?) There would be a vegan and  a dairy free option for dinner. Our first dance would have to be to some Green Day song. I would walk down the aisle to something musical theater related. Being as theatrical as I am I would want a big song and dance to be performed at the wedding by my work friends. Now I just gotta figure out a way to incorporate fitness into my wedding (morning zumba class for the bridal party before we get ready? hahahaha)

Anyone else planning out their dream wedding wayyy too in advanced?

And lastly, I finally ordered my AFAA Group Fitness workshop and my NASM Personal Training Text book. This means in the not so distant future I will be dominating the fitness world with my showtunes & green day infused workouts! I definitely have my work cut out for me with studying, but hey studying outside in the 80 degree weather in Cali won’t be so bad!

2 Responses to “vacation from vacation”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. and we’re back « Kayla in the City - October 17, 2012

    […] much as I miss being home with family, friends and the boy, there’s is something lovely about returning to the land of […]

  2. URL - October 20, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: kaylainthecity.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/vacation-from-vacation/ […]…

Leave a comment