this is halloween

25 Oct

Disneyland Halloween was a huge success!

Our Moonrise Kingdom costumes were a hit:

ha aren’t we precious?

And we even found another Moonrise couple!

My friend David and I had an amazing day at Disneyland and California Adventure. If you ever have the chance to go to Disney Halloween I highly recommend it. The Haunted Mansion is COMPLETELY redone to incorporate Nightmare Before Christmas. Space Mountain has a new scary twist that got me screaming. There is candy everywhereeee. Fabulous firework display. Everyone is dressed up in ridiculous costumes. And best of all? The park isn’t very crowded since only a limited number of tickets are sold. There is nothing better than only waiting 10 minutes to ride Space Mountain!

 

Trick or Treating around Disneyland put me in the Halloween spirit!

 

I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with a can of pumpkin I got from Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago. I love all things pumpkin, but the 80 degree Cali weather doesn’t exactly scream pumpkin spice lattes…

Enter, almond pumpkin pancakes.

(I was only able to get one semi decent picture of my food before I gobbled it all up)

I decided to experiment with my old favorite almond pancakes and add a bit of pumpkin flavor

  • 1/2 cup of almond flour
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin spice
  • 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon honey

1. spray canola oil on pan and heat on a low-med setting

2. Whisk together the ingredients into pancake batter

3. use a laddle to pour out 3-4 pancakes onto the pan.

Flip once one side is golden-y brown.

 

the pumpkin flavor is subtle, but the overall pancake is much more moist than the original recipe. I couldn’t eat these ‘cakes fast enough.

I enjoyed dipping them into maple syrup mixed with pumpkin butter (thanks trader joe’s!). Delicious.

Now I gotta figure out what to do with the rest of my canned pumpkin….

What’s your favorite pumpkin recipe?

2 Responses to “this is halloween”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. confidence builder « Kayla in the City - October 30, 2012

    […] Back home I was excited to make another batch of almond-pumpkin pancakes […]

  2. Pumpkin Flaxseed Pancakes + the final day « Kayla in the City - November 13, 2012

    […] whatever reason I have been on a serious pumpkin + pancake kick. Ole faithful pumpkin almond pancakes has basically become my go-to lunch (and on occasion dinner) for the past few weeks. Unfortunately […]

Leave a comment