NYC Vegetarian Food Festival 2012

5 Mar

I believe I am in a permanent food coma.

this weekend was spent performing the musical I am in for school 4 times, eating outrageous quantities of delicious food, and spending time with people I love.

today I went to the NYC Vegetarian Fest

I am not a vegetarian. I wish I could be, but it would not fit my current life style and picky eating habits. I haven’t eaten red meat since I was 12, and currently only eat chicken and turkey. My reasoning behind banning red meat from my diet is simple– I don’t like it and it grosses me out…. however, I do not care that you eat it.

I hope some day I will broaden my food horizons enough to include the essential nutrients I would need in order to cut chicken from my diet, but that is currently not the case. At this point in my life though, I eat chicken maybe twice a week and love trying vegetarian alternatives.

Attending the Vegetarian Food Festival was awesome, and delicious.

Here are some of my favorite booths of the day

Peanut Butter Co
Anyone who knows me knows my favorite food is peanut butter. I have been a huge fan of PB Co. since summer 2010 when I went there practically every day before my summer classes for a peanut butter and nutella sandwich. I loved getting to taste test all their delicious flavors. I ended up buying a few jars of “The Bees Knees” which is peanut butter with honey

slathered on whole wheat bread, this was the post- performance treat tonight. As if I needed more reasons to eat a peanut butter sandwich every day.

Yoga Rave

yes, a yoga rave. this sounds like the coolest thing ever, and I am so disappointed that I already have plans that thursday night.

You start off with a yoga warm up, then it turns into a rave, and then you finish off with yoga and meditation. For a girl like me who is not remotely into clubbing, but loves dancing and is slowly learning to love yoga, this is my kind of party. Hopefully it will be a huge success and there will be more Yoga Raves in the future.

Daiya Dairy Free Cheese

if you are vegan or lactose intolerant, this substitute “cheese” is absolutely delicious. I tried the pepper jack in quesadilla form and the american in grilled cheese form, and both were yummy alternatives

Vegan Marshmallows from Sweet and Sara

I don’t like to think about what marshmallows are made of. Some people say those horrifying gelatin stories are no longer true, others feel the need to constantly remind me that I am eating animal bones. If that is the case, Sweet and Sara vegan marshmallows were a fantastic substitute

my favorite were the rice krispy treats and the peanut butter s’mores

—–

It was a delicious afternoon taste testing at the festival

This semester is going by WAY too fast, I have 4 more performances of the musicals and then it is SPRING BREAK— and the signal that spring semester is half way over.

It is gonna be a crazy whirlwind week attempting to study for midterms, performing 4 more times, having a full week of class… and followed by going home to visit friends for the weekend before I go to California for the rest of spring break.

I just keep thinking how amazing it will be when I am in California in a little over a week, enjoying the warmer weather with my best friend…..

(spring break 2011 in California. Bestie and I lived out my life long wish and had a dream Disneyland Vacation and stayed onsite. Actually….. we went to Disneyland all 3 times I visited him last year. We are kind of obsessed.)

Leave a comment