The Never Ending Vacation

30 May

one of the perks of having a full month off between graduating college and starting work? being in a state of never ending vacation. It will be one of the last times in my life where my biggest commitment is going to physical therapy and my biggest concern is planning my life around zumba classes.

Sunday night the boy and I decided to cook a healthy version of mac and cheese. the only big change we made to the recipe was adding more cheddar cheese because the flavor was a bit lacking.

all in all it was pretty good baked mac and cheese, not quite as flavorful as my mom’s usual recipe, but a great healthy alternative

honestly, I think the left overs taste even better than the original….

after we watched Music and Lyrics. I’ve never seen the movie before and it was super sweet, but I was exhausted from the day. At 11PM I couldn’t believe I was falling sleep, I believe it was a sign that my body needed to regroup, so I decided Memorial day would be the perfect day to sleep-in and give myself a break from working out

Monday– after a lovely sleep-in it was time to enjoy the ridiculously hot weather with a pool party at my friends house

greatest app ever

the weather here as been UNREAL, ridiculously hot and humid after lots of cold days. While I am not entirely complaining, it makes pool parties a must to survive the heat.

the original plan for Tuesday was to take a road trip to New Jersey and ride roller coasters at Six Flags Great Adventure. 90 degrees and humid though did not sound like good amusement park weather, so instead we decided to make it a beach day.

before heading out to Connecticut I had my first day of Westchester Adventure Boot Camp! at 9:15AM the heat was already beastly and sun was shining. I’ve never really worked out outside so fighting the natural elements made it a much more challenging workout than if I was in an air conditioned gym. Despite the heat I LOVED boot camp.

I was unsure what exactly the program would be, and I knew that “weight loss” isn’t exactly why I signed up. I wanted something that I could modify with my injury and that wouldn’t be boring. I found my perfect summer workout– every day is something different.

Tuesday was upperbody– lots of push-up variations etc. and doing a short cardio burst in between each exercise. It was one intense and sweaty hour– my post workout iced coffee and shower was well deserved.

and then it was time to journey to the beach! We decided Compo Beach in Westport was a good choice for the day, less than an hour away, and a decent beach. While Long Island has arguably nicer beaches to offer, not having to travel far away or deal with traffic was a good call.

of course no journey would be complete without complications– my friends car overheated within 5 minutes of leaving. Obviously this meant it was a perfect time to take prom-style photos since the boy and I accidently matched.

I swear we didn’t coordinate outfits….

and more photos while we were stranded on the side of the road….

after some help from our parents, we were back on the road in a different car and beach bound!

the beach was definitely the better and cooler option for a hot and humid day….

Wednesday time for boot camp day two! one day a week is kickboxing. I have a bit of kickboxing under my belt, but not much. Squats though? Not my forte. Squats have been absent from my workout routine recently, but wow did we do a lot today. I’m already feeling the soreness in my arms which is just what I paid for!

Post boot camp I tested out one of Peanut Butter Finger’s Protein Pancake Recipes. Oh my god it was heavenly post boot camp. I ate it too fast to take a picture, but I highly recommend this recipe. Perfect way to use up the leftover cottage cheese from my mac and cheese recipe!

the afternoon was spent lounging around– well deserved

Tonight is my favorite zumba class at Club Fit, always my favorite part of the week.

2 Responses to “The Never Ending Vacation”

  1. Sean Breslin May 30, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    Leftover mac and cheese is the best…

Leave a comment