end challenge.

30 Sep

[seen while driving around LA]

Today was a much needed rest day. I know I’m supposed to take rest days but the issue is I love going to the gym, so much that I wrote all about it yesterday. Since I haven’t been doing much here besides sipping chai tea lattes, going to Trader Joe’s and applying to many many jobs, going to the gym is something to do that makes me feel like I accomplished something.

For my fellow workout-a-holics who love love love their gyms it is still so important to take a rest day– the body needs to recuperate. My body has been hella sore since working out with a trainer on Thursday and I’m hoping taking the day off to fully heal my body will have me back at 100% tomorrow since I am taking a trapeze class.

Today is sadly the last day of the challenge [I got a few days behind]. Hmm I definitely gotta find a new challenge now…

Day 28 Have you ever done a home workout video? If so, which ones are your favourite?
At home workout videos are not my favorite, but I do them from time to time if I can’t make it to the gym. I was lucky to receive a freebie of the “Zumba Exhilarate” box set. It is great for people who are too self conscious to go to a zumba class, or who want to see what it is all about before going to a class.

For me personally though I prefer to feed off the energy of an instructor and those around me. Also I have zero shame so I am no longer embarrassed by what I look like in a zumba class 🙂

Day 29 Recipe time! Share your favourite fall recipe!
Delicious pumpkin bread I made last fall! Because there is nothing more delicious than pumpkin bread

Ingredients
3 1/2 cups of flour
1 Tb. baking powder
2 tsps. ground ginger
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of salt
1 tsp of ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
4 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
1 stick of melted butter
1/2 cup of apple sauce
1 can (16 oz) pure pumpkin

Recipe
Grease two 9×5 loaf pans
Adjust oven rack to lower- middle position and preheat oven to 350 degrees
-Mix flour, baking powder, ginger, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and cloves in a large bowl.

Meanwhile, whisk eggs and sugars in a medium bowl. Whisk butter and applesauce until fully mixed in and then add pumpkin.

Beat wet ingredients into dry ingredients until smooth. Divide evenly between the two pans.

Bake for around 50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.
Let cool for a few minutes and then run a knife around the pan to loosen the bread.
Day 30 Your goals for October

  • Find a job, workshop, gig, something that occupies my time in Los Angeles
  • have an idea of what I am doing for the winter/spring
  • continue to take dance classes
  • continue to take flying trapeze lessons
  • doing something acting related
  • start studying for the certified personal training exam
  • complete my dotFit certification
  • cook more
  • eat out less
  • enjoy all that Los Angeles has to offer

Leave a comment