Picky Eater Fried Rice

1 Nov

Not gonna lie, but by the time it was actually halloween I was a bit over the holiday.

I had already rocked my amazing costume at Disneyland halloween with my best friend

Sam & Suzy from Moonrise Kingdom

and already saw “The Nightmare Before Christmas” for my first time ever. Added bonus that it was in 4-D which meant awesome lighting effects and snow.

and already ate all the Reese’s in my disney trick or treat bag

and already watched a few Roseanne halloween episodes.

So by the time it was actual halloween, I was over it and instead spent halloween morning in Santa Monica, freezing my butt off by the water during a trapeze class

dreary, overcast days in California feel so wrong!

So for halloween I was a sweaty, chalky trapeze artist 🙂

I was a teensy bit festive and rocked out to Rocky Horror on the car ride home.

Cooking has never been my strongest suit. This is why Manhattan and I work well together, it is SO easy to avoid cooking. Hellooooo take out and delivery.

I’m trying to become a little less terrified of the kitchen and so far so good. I have a nice assortment of breakfast treats I can make and a few go to lunches. Dinner though I’m still working on. When in doubt I usually just end up eating breakfast-y foods for all 3 meals…

Tonight I decided to be adventurous and try to recreate a favorite childhood dinner: fried rice. One of my favorite things about making fried rice is that you can customize it to your own palate. There’s a million different veggies and things you can add it. Or if your like me and an incredibly picky eater you keep it simple.

Picky Eater Fried Rice

-2 cups already cooked brown rice (I’m lazy and used the instant stuff)

– 2 eggs

– 5 or so baby carrots, chopped

– handful of cooked edamame

-2 tablespoons olive oil, or oil of some sort

– 3 tablespoons soy sauce

Directions

  • heat oil in a frying pan on medium heat.
  • Add the carrots and edamame and sautĂ© until carrots are cooked.

  • Mix in soy sauce
  • crack both eggs in the pan and whisk all the ingredients together until the eggs are cooked.
  • Once the eggs are cooked, add in the rice and mix together. Add more soy sauce if needed

I was very pleased with my not only edible but also delicious fried rice. Next time I might scramble the egg beforehand, but this way is yummy too.

See, I’m getting better at cooking!

2 Responses to “Picky Eater Fried Rice”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. even better fried rice. « Kayla in the City - December 7, 2012

    […] It was time to bring back a California favorite : picky eater “fried” rice […]

  2. oh hey, 2013 « Kayla in the City - January 11, 2013

    […] picky eater fried rice […]

Leave a comment