it’s beginning to look a lot like chanukah

13 Dec

good morning all!

a very happy chanukah to all those celebrating

chanukah

I’ve been “lighting” the candles on my velcro menorah every night since I’m too lazy to seek out real candles. I’m super excited to celebrate the holiday this weekend with my extended family. In actuality Chanukah isn’t a very religious holiday, but it’s a great excuse to see my aunt, uncle and cousins and eat some latkes.

IMG_1419

mama found me some dairy-free chanukah shortbread cookies. not exactly healthy, but hey it’s the holidays 🙂

My chanukah wish list this consisted of a food processor, toaster oven, and fitness classes.

cuisinart

IMG_1424

It’s funny how what I want  for the holiday has shifted from toys and electronics to practical items for my apartment.

 

This morning I’m bringing back old Kayla traditions: grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s early in the morning to beat the crowd, eating breakfast while watching morning talk shows and eating my favorite breakfast while I was in California: whole wheat english muffin, peanut butter, honey + chia seeds

pb chia

The past three days I’ve been at new staff orientation from 9-6 which was incredibly helpful but hella exhausting. Tonight is my first night actually working a shift at the gym and talking to members about personal training. I’m so so so excited to get to wear my staff outfit but definitely a little nervous to step outside my comfort zone and reach out to people.

Of course on top of working has been studying and more studying

study and protein

post-spin class protein shake (vega vegan protein + banana + frozen strawberries + almond milk = heavenly) while studying the isolated functions of muscles.

I don’t wanna say exactly when I’m taking the NASM CPT exam in case I do fail, but I’ll just say it’s very soon. I am feeling very confident in the material at the moment thanks to these crazy study sessions, doing really well on practice exams and reinforcing the material at orientation these past few days. Here’s to hoping hard work pays off!

 

Time to head over to the gym for a quick strength workout before a staff meeting. Perks of being a personal trainer!

Leave a comment