Kayla’s Guide to Hibernating

23 Jan

it is definitely too cold for me to go outside. Imma wimp when it comes to winter weather.

IMG_1491

This arctic weather calls for a lazy relaxing day in the apartment.

So I might have spent most of the day catching up on DVRed episodes of Girls, The Biggest Loser and Emily Owens MD

Being cooped up in my apartment also gave me time to sit down and do a major study sesh for my upcoming AFAA Group Fitness Certification exam

IMG_1492

 

after the grueling process of studying for the NASM personal training exam in December, this material feels way more accessible. It helps that I find the material interesting and I now have a basic understanding of exercise science thanks to NASM.

Today was also the perfect day to prep food for the week. Nothing makes me happier than a tupperware of homemade turkey meatballs in the fridge.

IMG_4007

I’m a fan of eating these meatballs for dinner or a mid day snack.

 

I did [briefly] venture to the outside world for the sake of fitness– now that’s devotion! A great motivation to go out and sweat? One, the gym is guaranteed to be nice and toasty. And two, sign up for a class in advanced with an instructor you love so you can’t skip the class even if you really want to. Tonight was a conditioning class with one of my favorite instructors who I haven’t taken a class with in a year.

And of course, breakfast for dinner makes everything better

IMG_1476

After staying away from pancakes for a few weeks, my pancake obsession is back and strong than ever.

 

Since I spent most of last week running around Manhattan and Brooklyn going on job interviews, auditions, etc it is nice to have a nice lazy but productive day in the apartment.

 

Question of the day: how are you surviving the cold weather?

 

5 Responses to “Kayla’s Guide to Hibernating”

  1. sweetlybalanced January 24, 2013 at 6:19 am #

    Even though it’s cold out… my office feels like a tropical island. Since I spend the majority of my day there, I haven’t actually been too affected by these frigid temps.

  2. Emily @ FitMamaInTheCity January 24, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    Hi!!! I’m a new follower 🙂 But I stayed inside yesterday too. Made brownies from scratch so I wouldn’t even have to buy mix, and had a Biggest Loser marathon while I ate them.. Not the best idea. Thankfully I did manage to get a strength workout via NTC and a quick yoga flow in, so it, wasn’t TOTALLY unproductive

    • Kayla in the City January 24, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

      thanks for stopping by!

      Baking brownies sounds like an excellent way to spend a freezing cold day

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sweat, soup and socializing « Kayla in the City - January 24, 2013

    […] I couldn’t spend all of today hibernating, so my way of dealing with the cold? Sweat, soup and […]

Leave a comment