vegan baking fail

27 Jan

IMG_1498

 

oh hello snowy roof top.

My new favorite Saturday morning ritual? Kira Stokes’ RIP Ride spin class at Revolve (I told ya I was a spin whore). I’m totally obsessed. This class make waking up early on a Saturday oh so worth it.

After a sweaty morning working out I went to see “The Mystery of Edwin Drood” with my brother. We’ve both been a huge fan of this musical for 10+ years so it was exciting to see it performed live with a killer cast. This show is super unique because the audience gets to choose the ending. Charles Dickens died while writing the original novel, so it’s up to the audience to decide who killed Edwin Drood. The musical has multiple alternate endings depending on what the audience decides. Chose your own ending musical theater? So cool.

My Saturday night has been pretty low-key. After grabbing dinner with my parents I studied a bit for the AFAA Group Fitness Cert I’m taking soon.

Mid studying I got the brilliant idea to do some baking. I decided to attempt to make my infamous toffee bars but vegan because 1. dairy hurts my belly and 2. the only “butter” in my apartment is the vegan stuff.

Bad choices my friends.

Here’s how they were supposed to look:

IMG_0769

Here’s what the vegan version looked like:

IMG_1499

a sad, oily mess.

Turns out you can’t substitute earth balance for butter in a recipe that requires a lot of butter. Vegan baking fail.

In actuality it’s probably for the better, I don’t really need a whole batch of toffee bars lying around my apartment begging to be eaten. But now I know, don’t substitute earth balance for butter while baking.

have you ever had a vegan baking fail (or any sort of baking fail)?

any tips for how to vegan-ize a recipe?

 

6 Responses to “vegan baking fail”

  1. Christine McCarthy (@OatmealBowl) January 27, 2013 at 12:49 am #

    but does the fail still tastes good? crumble it up and use it as an oatmeal topping. 😉

    • Kayla in the City January 27, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

      sadly the fail was so bad I couldn’t even turn it into oatmeal toppings 😦

  2. Lee January 27, 2013 at 9:08 am #

    Those vegan toffee bars can only get better from here, eh? I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who gets recipe flops when experimenting!

    • Kayla in the City January 27, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

      I mean, it’s worth experimenting in case you come up with something awesome

  3. Elle January 27, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    If you clarify a pound of butter (that takes the milk solids from it) you probably could use that in your recipe.

    • Kayla in the City January 27, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

      oo thanks for the tip! I didn’t know that was even a thing you could do with butter

Leave a comment