Sunny Day Workout

31 May

finally a sunny day without humidity!

As much as I love going to the gym, I knew motivating myself to make the 25 minute drive on this beautiful day was not happening. One draw back of suburbia is everything is so far away. I can usually justify driving for a group fitness class or when I know my friend will be at the gym, but today there were no classes or friend motivating me.

instead I decided to test out my new couch to 5k app and try out a workout from online.

before heading out to run around the neighborhood I put this playlist together

I am currently OBSESSED with Nicki Minaj’s Starships. I’ve never really gotten into her music, but this is my favorite song of summer (well late spring) so far. the day camp I work at better get ready to hear lots of it this summer.

In August I will be “running” my second 5k at Yankee Stadium. Last summer I was a bit clueless about how to train, I would spend time on the treadmill simple proving to myself that I would alternate walking and running for 3.1 miles. Coming from the girl who cried her way through the mile run in high school this was a big improvement.

look ma! I’m on the jumbo tron at yankee stadium!

sweaty sibling #proof

This summer I decided to have a plan of attack, the famous couch to 5k route. I downloaded the app “get running” and took today as a literal test run

already I can tell this app is AMAZING. with music from my iphone playing in the background, the app gives me continuous prompts that lower the music slightly telling me when to walk, run and a warning of what is coming up.

day one was 28 minutes with 8 1 minute running bursts. I loved that I could mindlessly run around my neighborhood and be prompted when it was time to run or walk. I’ll keep ya updated how the rest of 5k training goes, but this app is definitely gonna be a huge help.

after running around my neighborhood it was time for some strength training. After searching around various blogs I decided to try out one of Fitnessista’s workouts from last summer.

yes, I drew little pictures to remind me what the exercise looked like

I modified a teensy bit for injury and at home workout ability– the overheads & pushups in the beginning were a bit brutal for me post run and with a weak right arm so I cut out a set. Instead of tri-dips I did kick backs. I didn’t have an assisted pull-up machine so I improvised other arm exercises and lastly decided to finish the ab burner with pilates-style roll-ups instead of the stiff leg pull over crunch.

I’m not usually a fan of working out on my own, but with my summer tunes playlist and this great workout was a great gym alternative.

and now since I got my sweat in this afternoon I get to enjoy an indian food dinner with the boy tonight. much better than going to kickboxing at the gym

 

 

 

oh and one last thing:

I will forever think of “pewww peww imma rocket” in tree pose from now on…. great.

One Response to “Sunny Day Workout”

  1. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) May 31, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    I have never done that program but know a lot of ppl who did and loved it!

Leave a comment