California, Here We Come

19 Sep

Today is finally the day.

When I found out about Equinox’s program which trained future group fitness instructors September 2012 seemed like a distant dream– it was only January. September was a whole semester, graduation and summer away.

But now this day is finally here, I am at the airport about to board a flight to Los Angeles, a place I have been numerous times, but this time it’s more than just a spring break or family vacation.

I’ve only ever lived two places- Westchester and New York City. In high school I dreamed of college in a far away, warm location, preferably California or Florida. That dream changed when I got accepted to NYU Tisch, an offer I could not refuse. But a part of me still had warm weather dreams, dreams which became more vivid when I went on vacations to visit my best friend in Los Angeles.

In a few hours I will finally get to call Los Angeles my home. It may be only for 2 months, or it may be longer, but none-the-less it will be my home.

as I walked into the airport with my mama she asked what I was feeling. I said tired, which is accurate at 8AM,
but we both knew I was feeling excited, anxious and nervous like the first day of college.

and so the california adventure begins: 2 months full of fitness, healthy delicious eats, beautiful weather, stunning beaches and Disneyland.

“you can travel the world, but nothing comes close to the golden coast…”

One Response to “California, Here We Come”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. vacation from vacation « Kayla in the City - October 15, 2012

    […] de ja vu over here for me… once again I am sitting in the admirals lounge at JFK airport, sipping a chai latte, lovin’ the free wifi […]

Leave a comment