Long Weekend, Well Deserved

20 Feb

while a lot of exciting things happened last week, it was also an incredibly busy week.

every single day was filled with long hours of class, followed by either rehearsal, a job interview or auditions. While it was a lot of good things, it was simply a lot of things to juggle while still getting quite a few hours of exercise

the highlights of my week include:

– a surprise visit at trapeze from my best friend whom I haven’t seen in 2 months

Contrasting Colors at Trapeze

– getting a callback for the Tisch Gala, a schmancy even with many of our schmancy alumni in attendance

– getting a second job interview

– rocking my song in music performance AND getting complimented by the music director of American Idiot on broadway (!!!!!!)

– and actually accomplishing everything and surviving the week.

After the crazy week was the well deserved long weekend spent with boyfriend.

On Friday we went to go see Merrily We Roll Along as part of Encores

the show is rarely performed and has a long history of failing– it is a tough show to pull off. It begins at the end, and ends at the beginning, telling the story of three best friends rise to fame and fortune as artists but backwards

It was a truly inspiring show to see as a senior on the verge of graduating with a degree in fine arts.

“It’s our time, breathe it in:
Worlds to change and worlds to win.
Our turn, we’re what’s new,
Me and you, pal,
Me and you!”

a part of me is so torn about what I want when I graduate– I want to live in Los Angeles yet I adore New York and my apartment here, I want to become a fitness instructor but I also want to star on Broadway, I want to travel yet I want to feel stable. This show reminded me why theater. What it is I love about live storytelling and that passion and energy all of us young artists feel– we are the next generation and it is almost our time to shine.

On Sunday we celebrated Valentine’s Day and our 6 month anniversary. Boyfriend surprised me with a dinner cruise around Manhattan

view from the boat

it was an incredible evening with beautiful views and yummy food

the rest of the long weekend was spent shopping and making this fabulous lego creation

who says I'm too old to play with legos?

Once boyfriend left, I was definitely not in the mood to do homework so I decided to procrastinate and utilize my newly renewed netflix membership

and tryout the Fat Burning Pilates video via Crunch.

My experience with fitness videos is pretty limited, I’m more of a group fitness kind of gal, but I definitely enjoyed following along to this video.

The first half is a low intensity cardio work out– a simple dance based, step-touch, movement to get your heart beat up. For me, the cardio was a bit meh, and didn’t get me sweating as much as a typical dance or zumba class would. For the most part it was easy to follow, however I was concerned about my form throughout, and had a few seconds of “wait what are they doing”.

The second half is a mat based pilates work out. I’ve done a decent amount of pilates, fall 2010 I was really hooked and went a few times a week to a mat class, and fall 2011 I was required to take pilates at school, so I am fairly aware of the principles and forms. The mat workout had some really great exercises, however I think there was too much resting in between each exercise.

fitness videos definitely do not compare to the experience at a group fitness class, but sometimes it is nice to have it as an added bonus.

This week will, thankfully, be far more relaxed. I’m hoping to finally utilize my free membership to Equinox and test out some of their awesome sounding fitness classes.

Well long weekend, you were nice while you lasted, but back to 6:15AM alarms and long days of class.

 

Any recommendations for classes to take the Greenwich Equinox?

Any recommendations for other netflix fitness videos that can kick my butt into shape?

Leave a comment