How The Other Half Sweats: Day 1 at Equinox

21 Feb

For the next week I will rock my finest lululemon outfits, enjoy plush towels, use kiehls products and try out every group fitness class my poor body can handle.

DAY 1: Exploring and Inner Warrior

Last week I snuck a peak at the Greenwich Avenue Equinox during my job interview. I was intrigued by the cleanliness of the gym and how spacious it was.

Today I took the time to explore the club and see what it has to offer and what you get when you spend double what I do every month for Crunch. I’ve done my fair share of gym hopping– starting at David Barton on Astor Place, spent the summer at NYSC in the suburbs, joined Crunch in the city for senior year, and Club Fit in the suburbs for winter break. Each fitness club has had its strength and weakness along with varying prices for membership.

It is easy to be wowed by experience at Equinox. I walk into the locker room and am amazed by how huge and spacious it is– lots of free lockers! It was nice to be able to quickly find a locker. I was amazed by the products in the bathroom– fancy soap, moisturizer and razors. Everything was also super clean everywhere I went.

I attended Nadia Zaki’s class “Inner Warrior“. The first 30 minutes was a yoga inspired sequence that moves quickly but really tests strength. Lots of chaturangas, warriors and other things I am now more familiar with after taking lots of yoga classes. About halfway through the yoga portion my shoulders were burning– I was regretting attending this class after I had lifted weights early in the morning. It was an incredible test of upper body strength while also trying to stay balanced and focused.

The second 30 minutes featured a martial arts inspired movement sequence. Taught like dance choreography, we learned the sequence piece by piece and built on it until the end of class. I’ve been craving martial arts recently– I took karate for 4 years growing up but quit because I disliked sparring (fighting) and wasn’t allowed to only focus on the katas (movement sequences). This class was perfect to satisfy that karate craving. I loved doing the sequence at the end– it was a fusion of my love for karate and dance.

By the end of the class I was drenched in sweat and had made a new friend who gave me a recommendation for what class I should take tomorrow.

Stay tuned for the rest of my week sweating with the 1% at Equinox

One Response to “How The Other Half Sweats: Day 1 at Equinox”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Sweat Like the Rich for Dirt Cheap « Kayla in the City - February 20, 2013

    […] you’re like me you take full advantage of your 1 free week at Equinox. That week was […]

Leave a comment