more from LA: some Idiots, some exercise, and alotta soreness

16 Mar

Spring break is going way too fast. While it feels like it’s been forever since I’ve been in Manhattan, and the musicals we performed right before spring break feel like they happened ages ago, this trip to California has felt super quick.

Wednesday I was lucky enough to win front row, center tickets, to the Los Angeles premier of American Idiot at the Ahmanson. Being that close to the action is unreal, I’ve sat in front row seats a bunch of times during the Broadway run, but not yet for the tour production of Idiot.

Before the show I was in celeb sighting mode trying to spot some famous people attending the premiere. Granted, I am terrible at knowing who movie stars are and Broadway people are my version of celebs. I did however recognize Tom Hanks, Bob Saget and Marci Gay Harden (whom I not only took a trapeze class with one time, but also saw her perform in God of Carnage at the Ahmanson when I was in LA last May).

oh hey Tom Hanks! I recognize you!

the BRILLIANT Tom Kitt, Westchester native! orchestrator for Idiot, and composer for Next to Normal and High Fidelity

what 90's child doesn't recognize Bob Saget?

the performance was truly amazing. It is now my 4th time seeing the touring cast. I can finally sit back and enjoy the beauty of the show instead of being distracted by all the changes that have been made since Broadway. This cast is absolutely fierce and reminds me why theater and why this show became such a huge part of my life after I saw it 2 years ago. And first row is really something else

Thursday it was time to get my sweat on at Equinox- Westwood! Previously this month I enjoyed a fabulous free week of classy sweating at Equinox, Greenwich Ave in Manhattan. I fell in love with their innovative and unique group fitness classes.

I attended a ViPR class taught by the charismatic Jeffrey Scott.
The online description reads:

Vitality, Performance & Reconditioning for more energy, enhanced movement skills, & incredible strength. ViPR delivers a progressive & fun variety of real-life movement & whole body integration for maximum metabolic rate & increased caloric expenditure, resistance, endurance & strength.

The classes utilizes an odd, cylinder piece of equipment, the ViPR, and you use it to perform common exercises

cheesy ladies and the ViPR

 I actually had the joy of attending a lecture from the creator of the ViPR, Michol Dalcourt. He spoke about his interest in engaging the full body at all times when working out, and how this piece of equipment encourages that.
I was super excited, and a bit nervous, to finally try the ViPR out for myself. It seemed a bit intimidating and awkward to handle, but during the class I got the hang of it. The class is deceptive- at first I was thinking “woooo this is easy!” but soon the sweat was pouring out and I was shocked how tired my muscles were getting. We used the ViPR as an extra piece of equipment while doing typical exercises– like squats that have the added challenge of pushing the ViPR towards and away from your chest so you work not only your lower body, but also the upper body. In addition to strength training exercises, we also did some intense cardio. Shuttle runs? I haven’t done shuttle runs since middle school! By the end of the class my body was a sweaty, noodley mess. Once again I am so impressed with the classes at Equinox, truly original and unique to their gyms.
After the ViPR kicked my butt I spent the afternoon in Westwood, which is also the home of UCLA
Even though I am 21 years old and graduating from NYU in, uh, exactly 2 months, I still felt like I was 17 years old and too young to be in college. In middle school I wanted to go to UCLA, simply because it was a smart school and in California. It was awesome to get to see the school at these years later, and secretly wish I had applied to college there.
this nyu girl is seriously perplexed by college campuses and luscious green areas on those college campuses.
Today my body is rather sore from the ViPR and walking around for 5 hours. I love knowing that I worked my body (particularly my booty and thighs) and therefore they are sore, but they seriously hurt!
I decided to take it easy today and take a yoga class at Crunch. I wanted to push myself harder and take a cardio dance class a well, but my hips are definitely not feeling it. Yoga was definitely a good choice for this morning.
Sadly tonight is my last night in California. Best friend and I are going to see Idiot again, and then I am back to Nueva York tomorrow afternoon. I could definitely go for another week of spring break, and another few days in California….

Leave a comment