soca, no joka

8 May

6:15AM was not happening this morning. After going strong ALL semester and only missing maybe 1 or 2 morning workouts since January, this morning I realized it was soooo not happening. At the end of every college year I have a tendency to crash and burn– the first few days when I’m back in my childhood bed in Westchester I sleep for HOURS to recoup from the semester. My body and mind finally slow down. While this semester I’ve been a lot better about sleep and avoiding burn out, I am not surprised that my body is starting to realize “oh hey we are done, this means we get to crash!” Sometimes you just need those extra hours of sleep….

this morning I had the terrifying realization that my days as a college student are numbered. This thing that has identified me for 4 years— Hello, my name is Kayla, and I go to NYU for theater, will no longer define me in a week. I know this means I get to decide how to define myself now, “Hello, my name is Kayla, and I’m a semi starving artist”, “Hello, my name is Kayla and I audition for a living”……..

While a part of me feels very ready and okay with being done with college, it is the weird little things like that which totally freak me out. ahhhh adulthood

after day 8 of my yoga challenge (8 days and still lovin’ it!) my bestie David and I tried out “soca-n-wet” at Crunch Union Square with Brooke

soaking wet thanks to splash mountain

the on line description reads: Ready, set, sweat! This class combines intense high and low cardio moves to a give you a calorie scorching cardio workout. Set to an exciting rhythmic, Soca music soundtrack, Soca-N-Wet will leave you rip roaring and soak n’ wet.  

Lemme tell you, it was no joke.
we were both expecting a sort of dance class. There was a bit of dancing, kind of like a zumba class, but on crack….
I don’t know what about it was exhausting and absolutely sweat inducing, but by the end of the class we were both drenched. The class combined cardio moves with simple conditioning. I was pleasantly surprised to be using weights since I miss my strength training classes. Brooke was an awesome motivator and I would definitely take another class with her.
All in all it was a lovely 45 minute sweat-fest

Considering I have no school, homework or finals this week I have been oddly and delightfully busy. Today was filled with yoga, soca, hanging out with David until I eventually decided to buy tickets for Jesus Christ Superstar on Broadway last minute. who knew free time could be so action packed?

2 Responses to “soca, no joka”

  1. RateYourBurn June 27, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    How have we not been to this class yet? Someone just reviewed it on RateYourBurn and LOVED it… and we googled it to see what the f “Soca N Wet” was and came accross this blog post! Awesome… Kayla we have got to get you on RYB. We will now spend the next hour reading through your reviews, thx 🙂

Leave a comment