How to Sweat Like the Rich for Dirt Cheap

20 Feb

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with trying out new classes and gyms wherever I go. The issue? It’s pretty expensive to take boutique fitness classes in Manhattan and join fancy gyms. While sadly there is no way around Equinox’s huge price tag for membership (trust me I’ve tried my hardest to barter with them on multiple occasions)and Soul Cycle isn’t known to offer discounts, there are some ways to take the best fitness classes your city has to offer even on a budget.

Living Social, Groupon, Gilt, Ect.

At this rate everyone’s inbox is flooded with livingsocial, groupon and Gilt emails… even my father tells me about what livingsocial deal he just bought. These discount websites are an awesome way to get cheap fitness classes and gym memberships.

Curious about pole dancing? Apprehensive about taking your first zumba class? Using one of these sites is a great way to try out a new class without the hefty price tag.

First-Time Special Offers

Most studios offer a first-time discount rate or special for new members. In California my first class with Soul Cycle was a fraction of the cost since I was a Soul virgin. Also in California I enjoyed the sweet deal of 1 unlimited month at Swerve Studios for $100. Once you tell me I have an unlimited month I tend to go crazy and take as many classes in that month as humanly possible.

On the East Coast spin studio Revolve offers a great 1 month for $100 special as well. I wish that my one month hadn’t coincided with the stomach flu and going to London, but it was definitely worth it and I got to check out most of the instructors.

Flywheel and Flybarre offer a complimentary FREE first class for both spin and barre.

For an amazing comprehensive list of all the special offers in Manhattan check out Rate Your Burn’s epic article.

Free Weeks

Most gyms offer a guest pass of some sort. If your friend is a member of a fancy gym most likely they were given guest passes at one point.

Stop by a gym, act interested in joining, and see if they’ll let you “test drive” the facilities.

If you’re like me you take full advantage of your 1 free week at Equinox. That week was swell.

Student Discounts

My purple NYU ID has been the golden ticket to discounts in Manhattan from theater tickets, to parking garages and even for fitness classes. If you are still a student or lucky enough to have an ID that hasn’t expired see if the studio or gym offer a student discount.

Working there

Have some spare time and want some extra cash? Working at a gym or fitness studio is an awesome way to get free, unlimited access to the facilities. Not only do you get to make money, but you also get to save money by taking those classes for free– Win win!

Zumba Website

If you are interested in taking cheap Zumba classes outside of the gym setting, zumba.com is a great resource to find new instructors and classes. From there I was able to find $5 pay as you go zumba classes while I was home in Westchester for the summer

Follow Your Favorites

My twitter feed is like a shrine to fitness instructors I’m obsessed with. Besides the fact that I’m already totally obsessed with them and love reading their motivating tweets, following your fave instructor on twitter could lead you to free classes. Just last week one of my absolute favorite instructors invited anyone who was interested to come for a free class at Equinox.

Classtivity

Classtivity offers this awesome passport program that lets you try out 10 fitness classes at some of the hottest studios in Manhattan for only $50 overall. I might have spent a good hour this morning on Classtivity planning out my sweat schedule for the next 2 weeks.

How have you saved money on gym memberships and fitness classes?

disclaimer: I am not affiliated with any of these discount sites… I’m just a group fitness junkie living on a small salary trying to sweat as cheaply as possible.

One Response to “How to Sweat Like the Rich for Dirt Cheap”

  1. Emily @ FitMamaInTheCity February 20, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    I LOVE unlimited passes, but with time constraints (my yoga studio doesn’t do day care) I found out that sometimes the BEST investment will be the class package.

Leave a comment