Midnight [turkey] Meatballs

4 Nov

One of my favorite things about being at my parents home is that their fridge always has something yummy to eat. My mother has set a good example for me– she prepares lots of food when she has time so there are plenty of left overs in the fridge.

A favorite of mine is her mini baked meatballs. They are great for a meal with spaghetti / quinoa / spaghetti squash and tomato sauce or they are a great snack to eat with a bit of tomato sauce.

The best part about them is they reheat really well– just pop them in the toaster for a few minutes and they will still be delicious and cripsy.

So what’s a gal to do late at night on a Saturday when she’s got no plans? Well of course she goes to Whole Foods to buy ground turkey and make a batch of meatballs for the week!

Baked Turkey Meatballs

ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons ketchup or tomato paste
  • 4 tablespoons panko crumbs, parmesan cheese or bread crumbs ( I just used bread crumbs)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons parsley (or if you’re like me and don’t have any use a pinch of rosemary, thyme and whatever other spice smells good…)
  • 16 oz. lean ground turkey

preparation:

  • preheat ove to 375
  • in a bowl mix all the ingredients minus the turkey
  • add the turkey and mix it all up. Don’t be afraid to use your hands to really mix it all together!
  • with damp hands roll the mixture into small meatballs and place on a baking sheet
  • bake for 20-25 minutes
  • refrigerate the leftovers and reheat in the toaster for a tasty snack

Slowly I am becoming less and less terrified of the kitchen! I’ve always been a bit creeped out by the thought of touching raw meat so touching the ground turkey sans freakout is a big deal

Now I’m pretty tempted to call my mama and tell her about my successful batch of meatballs…. but it’s almost 2AM in New York…

5 Responses to “Midnight [turkey] Meatballs”

  1. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) November 4, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    I love to make meals that work great for tasty leftovers 🙂

    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

  2. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast November 4, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    My husband would eat meatballs every day if he could… yours sound so good! And I love your trapeze shot- what a cool header!

  3. Kelly @ Laughter, Strength, and Food November 4, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    We were just talking tonight about appetizers for our upcoming wedding and the first thing my fiance asked was the price of the meatballs. He loves them! I’ll definitely be using this recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. oh hey, 2013 « Kayla in the City - January 11, 2013

    […] favorite baked turkey meatballs + microwave barilla. yes, you heard me, microwave […]

  2. Kayla’s Guide to Hibernating « Kayla in the City - January 23, 2013

    […] the perfect day to prep food for the week. Nothing makes me happier than a tupperware of homemade turkey meatballs in the […]

Leave a comment